This forum is no longer open and is for reading/searching only.

Please use our new MachForm Community Forum instead.

MachForm Community Forums » MachForm 2

Unique Alpha Numeric Form ID for Customers

1. Rotexy

Hello All,

I am a graphic designer (you can visit my new pet project at www.tinkaroni.com - it is still under construction). I am planing on running a promo for the site launch and would like the form to be able to generate a unique code for each form filled and sent in for the promo. This could also be used to gnerate a unique customer ID.

Kindly advice on how to do this.

Thanks

Rotexy

Posted 14 years ago #
  2. redityo

Hi,

Basically machform already has a unique ID for each entry in form submission. You can see the ID from "entries" menu on "#" column.

I think you can use that one, or do you have another requirement for the ID ?

MachForm Support

Posted 14 years ago #
  3. Rotexy

Hi Redityo,

Thanks for the prompt response, yes I would like numbers generated to have sequence like MON061009N0003 where the first three letters represent the day(MON) date(06) month(09) and form number (0003).

How secured is Machform on my site in terms of email harvesting by bots etc.

Regards
    Rotexy

Posted 14 years ago #
  4. Saghalie
    Pro Member

{entry_no}-{date_created} (or vise-versa)in the subject line is the best you are going to do without customizing the code. You could even put in the IP number if you wanted.

Hope this helps.

Regards,

Saghalie
    http://www.kcmhosting.com

Posted 14 years ago #
  5. redityo

Hi Rotexy,

If you need that ID stored in machform database, you need to edit some files indeed, and I think you can get that format. To do so try to follow these steps :

1. Add a "text" field into your form (I assume this field ID is 1)
    2. Add these CSS code to your CSS form to hide that field

#li_1 {
    display:none !important;
    }