This forum is no longer open and is for reading/searching only.

Please use our new MachForm Community Forum instead.

MachForm Community Forums » MachForm 2

Please help a noob...

1. mrdrennan

Hey guys and gals...

First off, admittedly I have no experience with PHP. Machform seems to be a perfect solution for what I need but the drag and drop interface feels like a long ways off since I can't get it installed. Here's what I've done so far, please tell me where I'm off track.

I created a database inside of my server at GoDaddy.com. I did this by going to the "Databases" tab under "My Hosting Account" and creating a new MYSQL database. I named it, usernamed it, and password protected it.

Next, I opened the config file as instructed in an html editor. This is where my first big question comes in. I entered info as I thought needed be done, but I have no experience so I don't know if I did it right. Basically, I entered the appropriate usernames, passwords, etc between the apostrophes. Is this correct? For example;
    define('DB_PASSWORD', 'xxxxxx')-where "xxxxxx" is my password, exactly as I entered it when I created the above MYSQL database on the server. I followed suit for the other entries.

After renaming config.php, I dragged the entire Machform folder into Fetch and it uploaded it to my server on GoDaddy.com. By default, it did not seem to place it in my site folder but rather in the highest parent directory available.

I found my way to the data file in Machform and using the "permissions" tab, made sure that it was readable and writeable by the administrator (correct?)